2003 Cadavre Exquis

Curated by Kurt Stadtler, 2003

 

The surrealistic method o visualising the unconscious by the combination of different parts, is the title of a videoscreening conveyed by an industrial body that anachronistically transports virtual bodies, which are perceived by real bodies, thus constituting a spatial body that only arises by dint of this coincidence.
A videotruck, positioned at various public places, liberates the videos from the shelter of the museum and the picture-frame stage of the monitor, transporting and mobilising the images as an accelerated billboard in the city space, with the effect that what is zapped is the audience, not the channels. The 19th-century flaneur has long morphed into a casual passer-by – the images almost come to rest. Beyond the movie narrative, loops, restrained sound and cuts contrast the beat of couch potato action. The perfectly natural, undogmatic handling of various media is significant. Corporeality as an interface to personal worldly wisdom is partly a humorous, pleasurable means of expression and partly stems from borderline existential experiences, without ever lapsing into bathos or arbitrariness. Sometimes audaciously, but always resolutely, the artistic works of a young generation under the name of video run counter to the control aspirations of commercial and propagandistic users of these media.
Private versus public? – Clearly perceptible at any rate!

Public Space

It is about nothing less than at least temporarily reconquering public space with fine arts. Form the second half of the 19th century on, commercial advertising surfaces have gradually supplanted all other forms of the fine arts, shifting them into the apparently private sphere. Genuinely democratic qualities of agora, however, still cannot be replaced by other places or media: for the homeless, asylum seekers and people in poverty, a visit to a museum or surfing the Internet is scarcely a possibility, to mention just a couple of examples. On the other hand, as a habitat in the literal sense, public space is still accessible for everyone. This is why the moving pictures of the videos should also continue to move in town spatially, thereby leaving behind both the now obsolete remains of static feudalistic and clerical world models and ubiquitous advertisements. Likewise the topos of travelling artists calls unequivocally for a mobile art term.

Participating Artists:
Adriana Czernin
Tracey Emin
Manuel Gorkiewicz
G.R.A.M.
Edgar Honetschläger
Anna Jermolaewa
Zilla Leutenegger
Pipilotti Rist
Klaus Schuster
M.S. Umesh
Flora Watzal
Gernot Wieland

Documentation:
Catalogue

2003 Cadavre Exquis

Kuratiert von Kurt Stadtler, 2003

 

Die surrealistische Vorgehensweise, unbewusstes durch die Kombination disparater Teile zu visualisieren, betitelt ein Videoscreening, das mit einem Industriekörper, wahrgenommen von realen Körpern, auf anachronistische Weise virtuelle Körper chauffiert, und so einen Raumkörper konstituiert, der nur aus dieser Koinzidenz entsteht.
Ein Videotruck, platziert an verschiedenen Orten des öffentlichen Raums, befreit die Videos aus dem Schutzraum Museum und der Guckkastenbühne Monitor, er transportiert und mobilisiert die Bilder als beschleunigtes Billboard im Stadtraum, sodass hier sozusagen nicht die Kanäle gezappt werden, sondern das Publikum. Der Flaneur des 19. Jahrhunderts ist längst zum flüchtigen Passanten mutiert – die Images kommen fast zur Ruhe. Jenseits des Narrativs eines Spielfilms widersprechen Loops, zurückhaltender Ton und Schnitt dem Beat von couch potato action. Der selbstverständliche und undogmatische Umgang mit verschiedenen Medien ist signifikant. Körperlichkeit als Zugang zu persönlicher Welterfahrung ist ein teils humor- und lustvolles, teils aus existentiellen Grenzerfahrungen stammendes Ausdrucksmittel, ohne je in Pathos oder Beliebigkeit zu verfallen. Diese unter dem Begriff Video firmierenden künstlerischen Arbeiten einer jüngeren Generation konterkarieren manchmal vorwitzig, jedenfalls bestimmt, den Kontrollanspruch kommerzieller und propagandistischer Nutzer dieser Medien.
Privat versus publik? – Jedenfalls deutlich wahrnehmbar!

Public Space

Es geht um nicht weniger, als um die wenigstens temporäre Wiedereroberung des öffentlichen Raums durch die bildende Kunst. Ab der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts verdrängten kommerzielle Werbeflächen sukzessive alle anderen Formen bildender Kunst in das scheinbar Private. Die genuin demokratischen Qualitäten der Agora sind aber heute nach wie vor nicht durch andere orte oder Medien ersetzbar: für Obdachlose, AsylwerberInnen, Menschen in Armut generell wird ein Museumsbesuch oder das Surfen im Internet, um nur zwei Beispiele anzuführen, kaum je möglich sein, dagegen ist der öffentliche Raum, als Lebensraum im buchstäblichen Sinn, noch allgemein zugänglich. Daher sollen sich die bewegten Bilder der Videos auch räumlich in der Stadt fortbewegen und sowohl die obsolet gewordenen Reste der feudalistischen und klerikalen statischen Weltmodelle, als auch die ubiquitären Werbungen hinter sich lassen. Auch der Topos von reisenden KünstlerInnen verlangt vehement nach einem mobilen Kunstbegriff.

Teilnehmende KünstlerInnen:
Adriana Czernin
Tracey Emin
Manuel Gorkiewicz
G.R.A.M.
Edgar Honetschläger
Anna Jermolaewa
Zilla Leutenegger
Pipilotti Rist
Klaus Schuster
M.S. Umesh
Flora Watzal
Gernot Wieland

Dokumentation:
Katalog